Forum Upgrades

Discussion in 'StangNet Site News' started by MRaburn, Oct 11, 2005.

  1. xr8d302

    xr8d302 I bought a 27" monitor to compensate for my lack o

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Medicine Hat, AB
    Just reading all these posts....I'll get flamed for this...but simply put, be patient people. It seems that Mike and his people are trying to improve the site, and if there's a week or so of squinting to look at the tech that you all love, then put up with it....
     
    #21
  2. HISSIN50

    HISSIN50 "How long does it take to get help in here?
    SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    31,158
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    79
    I don't normally post on these update/news threads, but I am in a minority and wanted to address one issue that some might not be aware of (or probably care about. LOL). As one of the few Dial-up users, the load speed has really gone down with this new format. I know DU users are not a large demographic, but are there any tricks to speed it up (on my end or otherwise)?

    BTW, I tried Greymoon last night (I think that is what it is called) and me likey.

    Congrats on the improvements Herr Raburn!
     
    #22
  3. hotrodnut

    hotrodnut Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    North Florida
    Since the upgrade here is what I get, is there anything I can do to improve on this? :(


    [​IMG]
     
    #23
  4. MRaburn

    MRaburn Founder
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,763
    Showcase:
    109
    Albums:
    6
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    Hotrod,

    That is strange... All images are pulled from www.stangnet.com. Is that sight blocked for you?
     
    #24
  5. hotrodnut

    hotrodnut Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    North Florida
    Yes, that is the case I am blocked from www.stangnet.com. :( I have been able to get around that though and get to the forums because that link has "forums" in front of it. :shrug:
     
    #25
  6. MRaburn

    MRaburn Founder
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,763
    Showcase:
    109
    Albums:
    6
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    Hmmm, OK lemme think on that one. I will be having a light version added today and could prob use that one instead.
     
    #26
  7. Daggar

    Daggar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    5,543
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One other detail that may be worth mention:

    It seems that half of the emoticons are either x'd out or are fuzzy little squares of static. They're not all displaying.

    Edit: Oooops, I see that I'm a little late with the post. My display is not near as severe as the one shown two posts ago though.
     
    #27
  8. MRaburn

    MRaburn Founder
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,763
    Showcase:
    109
    Albums:
    6
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    No problems guys, thanks for pointing out you issues, I am working to resolve most today. ;)
     
    #28
  9. hotrodnut

    hotrodnut Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    North Florida
    Ok MRaburn, here is how it looks when I switch to the new "TheFastDial" setting. :nice: There are still a few things that show up with red x's but for the most part it's 99.9% better! Thanks! :nice:


    [​IMG]
     
    #29
  10. mity2

    mity2 I like Pro3 and all I got was this crappy CT.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3,297
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    StateCollege PA
    i get many Red X too.... we should have kept Old blue moon until all these issues were taken care off IMO
     
    #30
  11. MRaburn

    MRaburn Founder
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,763
    Showcase:
    109
    Albums:
    6
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    There was no way to keep the old styles with the upgrade. You should not be getting red Xs as long as www.stangnet.com is allowed on the network.
     
    #31
  12. mity2

    mity2 I like Pro3 and all I got was this crappy CT.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3,297
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    StateCollege PA
    what do u mean "allowed" i can go to stangnet.com, andeverything comes up fine. No red x or error. taht means its allowed right?

    The red x i'm getting is only the smilies.



    Edit - never miond. its working now... i still can't load animated avater tho
     
    #32
  13. afast93stang

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    Showcase:
    74
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    North Texas
    Thanks MRaburn for upgrading the site, it looks good.

    I have one question, are the Garages gone or will those be coming back?
     
    #33
  14. MRaburn

    MRaburn Founder
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,763
    Showcase:
    109
    Albums:
    6
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    Yea I need to add the garage back in the system, I will check with the developer and see there is an update.

    Smileys should be fixed.

    Mike
     
    #34
  15. super302

    super302 I'd do anything for free Bapples

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,902
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Davenport, IA
    can't upload animated avitars
     
    #35
  16. 88 Fox GT

    88 Fox GT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Yes, just checked out the new "Darkplanet" skin. I love it! Great job! :nice:

    Posting and editing is working perfect now. Immediate post with no load screen inbetween. So much better. :D

    EDIT: MRaburn, any plans on adding more smillies?
     
    #36
  17. Blue Blurr

    Blue Blurr New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    ahhh Dark planet is pretty sweet.
     
    #37
  18. Ernad

    Ernad celibate sans pants

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Dial ROCKS!
     
    #38
  19. woodyy24

    woodyy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    324
    Showcase:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    what happened to the 1/4 times? :(
     
    #39
  20. mity2

    mity2 I like Pro3 and all I got was this crappy CT.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3,297
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    StateCollege PA
    my avater loded. its now cool upgrade!!
     
    #40

Share This Page