1998 GT Kenne Bell

Tyson98GT

May 12, 2005
I will be graduating from High School in two weeks and I am going to be buying a Kenne Bell Supercharger with my graduation money. Also for a 98GT is the 1.7 Kenne Bell the best application or would a centrfigural supercharger a better option for a 98? Also should I do the P.I. swap or just have my stock intake and heads ported and polished? I also plan on buying the VT stage 2 cams. So if anyone could answer these questions that would be great thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

Just how much money are you planning on making for graduating HS?! :shrug: I graduated HS 4 years ago and only walked away with $1,300 in present money.

I THINK you will need the forged PI heads if you get the KB kit. I may be wrong though. Someone please pwn me... :p

I should be looking at close to like 2,500 and I have another 3,000 dollars saved up in a savings account, so that will give me a good chunk. Also what do you mean when you say forged heads? Like are we talking factory forged or heads from a company like Patriot?

Some kids are more spoiled than others... I did about the same cash-wise, but my parents also sent me on a trip to Cozumel and Cancun... They were going to send me to the Bob Bondurant school, but I told them no because I thought it was too expensive and felt guilty for asking.... looking back now, I'm more like :bang:

Anyways back on topic... If you're not going to rebuild the bottom end then I would keep your stock heads(for compression reasons) If you rebuild the bottom end you can throw in some 15cc pistons and you'll be ok to do the PI head-swap. Centrifugal blowers don't make power as quickly as twin-screw/roots blower, so I'd go Kenne Bell, and stay with the 1.7 if you're not going to forge the bottom end. If you don't strengthen the internals though who's to say how long the rods will last?